American Drug Index by
For almost 60 years, American Drug Index has provided explanation and correlation of thousands of pharmaceuticals to medical, pharmaceutical, and allied health professionals. This exhaustive drug listing includes composition, strength, doseform, packaging, schedule, and usage for approximately 22,000 brand and official USP generic drugs. Organized in an easy-to-follow dictionary format with extensive cross-referencing, American Drug Index includes Tall Man lettering and hard-to-find generic drug pronunciations. Appendices provide valuable information on oral doseforms that should not be crushed or chewed, drug names that look and sound alike, weights and measures, approximate practical equivalents, normal laboratory values, and a manufacturer and distributor listing. Features: -More than 22,000 drug entries -Prescription and OTC drugs -Concise dictionary style -Extensive cross-referencing -Pronunciations -Tall Man lettering -Laboratory values -Manufacturer and distributor listing
Nursing Drug Handbook by
Still THE #1 Drug Guide for nurses & other clinicians...always dependable, always up to date! Look for these outstanding features Completely updated nursing-focused drug monographs featuring o ver 3,700 generic, brand-name, and combination drugs in an easy A-to-Z format NEW 34 brand-new FDA-approved drugs in this edition, including 31 complete monographs--tabbed and conveniently grouped in a handy "new drugs" section for easy retrieval NEW More than 8,100 clinical updates --new dosages and indications, Black Box warnings, adverse reactions, nursing considerations, clinical alerts, and patient teaching information NEW ISMP-recommended tall-man lettering for look alike-sound alike drugs Special focus on U.S. and Canadian drug safety issues and concerns Photoguide insert with images of 455 commonly prescribed tablets and capsules Plus FREE companion Toolkit available online through NDHnow.com Monthly FDA updates featuring newly approved drugs, indications, and warnings Pharmacology videos, audio pronunciation guide, and English-Spanish translator Equianalgesic dosing guidelines for opioid drugs Mechanisms and sites of action graphics for selected drugs NCLEX®-style questions, free CE tests, plus bonus discounts...and more! Table of Contents Anatomy of a monograph...............................................................inside front cover Contributors and consultants...................................................................................v How to use Nursing2019 Drug Handbook ...............................................................vi Quick guide to special symbols, logos, and highlighted terms................................ix Guide to Abbreviations.............................................................................................x General information 1. Drug actions, interactions, and reactions 2. Drug therapy across the lifespan 3. Safe drug administration 4. Selected therapeutic drug classifications Alphabetical listing of drugs by generic name New Drugs Appendices 1. Avoiding common drug errors: Best practices and prevention 2. Pregnancy risk categories: The FDA's Final Rule 3. Controlled substance schedules 4. Abbreviations to avoid (The Joint Commission) 5. Pediatric drugs commonly involved in drug errors 6. Elder care medication tips 7. Prescription drug abuse: Identifying and treating toxicity 8. Understanding biosimilar drugs 9. Nursing process: Patient safety during drug therapy 10. Serotonin syndrome: What you should know to protect your patients 11. Tumor lysis syndrome: A life-threatening emergency 12. Antidiarrheals: Indications and dosages 13. Antidotes: Indications and dosages 14. Selected biologicals and blood derivatives: Indications and dosages 15. Common combination drugs: Indications and dosages 16. Vaccines and toxoids: Indications and dosages 17. Vitamins and minerals: Indications and dosages 18. Antacids: Indications and dosages 19. Laxatives: Indications and dosages 20. Additional OTC drugs: Indications and dosages 21. Selected ophthalmic drugs: Indications and dosages 22. Do not use: Dangerous Abbreviations, symbols, and dose designations (ISMP Canada) 23. Decision tree: Deciding about medication administration 24. Canadian National Drug Schedules 25. Safe disposal of unused drugs: What patients need to know 26. Therapeutic drug monitoring guidelines 27. Less commonly used drugs: Indications and dosages 28. Additional new drugs: Indications and dosages
Physicians' Desk Reference by
The Physicians' Desk Reference has been the authoritative source on prescription drugs for 71 years. Found in virtually every physician's office, pharmacy, clinic, and library, no medical reference is more current, more recognized, or more respected. Now in its 71st edition, PDR contains full, FDA-approved drug label information, including warnings and precautions, drug interactions, and hundreds of full-color pill images. Every label in PDR includes information on dosages, side effects, and safety information, such as contraindications, pregnancy ratings, and interactions with other drugs, food, and alcohol. Data on clinical trials are also included.
Essentials of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing by
New DSM-5 Content! Whether it's an entire course on psychiatric nursing or integrating these principles into an existing course, this is the text that's concise, engaging, and informative. It offers an evidence-based, holistic approach to mental health nursing--in a streamlined format that explores nursing diagnoses for both physiological and psychological disorders. It's the psychiatric nursing text that students actually read, understand, and use. Completely revised, the 6th Edition reflects all of the new knowledge in the field and the practice of mental health nursing today, including DSM-5, NANDA-I 2012-2014, and QSEN.
Fast Facts for the Antepartum and Postpartum Nurse by
All aspects of safe, effective, holistic care for birthing mothers, newborns, and their families are included in this easy-access guide for new antepartum and postpartum nurses and their preceptors during the orientation period. Presented in the convenient, easy-to-use "Fast Facts" format, the book provides up-to-date information regarding care for both low- and high-risk antepartum and postpartum patients. It encompasses evidence-based practice guidelines and clinical recommendations for routine antepartum assessment and nursing care, care of women with pre-existing conditions prior to pregnancy or complications of pregnancy, routine postpartum assessment and care, postpartum complications, and care of special populations. Each chapter features a helpful "orientation guide" to acquaint the new orientee with essential information on procedures and policies, equipment, medications, and evidence-based protocols.
Fast Facts for the ER Nurse by
Because ER nurses need to think fast and act fast . . . Fast Facts for the ER Nurse is the only orientation guide and reference designed specifically for new ER nurses and the preceptors responsible for their orientation. The chapters provide a brief overview of equipment, treatments, and drugs used to manage common disorders and conditions frequently seen in the ER. The book includes disorder definitions, signs and symptoms, interventions, drugs, and critical thinking questions. Using a bullet-point format, each chapter is conveniently organised alphabetically by disease and disorder within each body system for quick access. The book serves as an organised, reliable, and thorough ER guide, ensuring a structured approach to orientation.
Nursing Home Care by
THE DEFINITIVE TEXT ON THE PRINCIPLES AND CLINCAL PRACTICE OF NURSING HOME CARE A Doody's Core Title for 2015 "Nursing Home Care" is a practical textbook designed to serve as a rich evidence-based resource to provide physicians and other practitioners with the information and knowledge to advance nursing home care. It states and explains the principles underpinning safe, personalized, and dignified nursing home practice using an integrated, cooperative approach. In addition, itprovides the medical knowledge necessary to give quality care to nursing home residents. "Nursing Home Care" reflects the International Association for Geriatrics and Gerontology's conviction that nursing home practice is an interdisciplinary endeavor that requires a sound theoretical, scientific, and values base in addition to clinical expertise. Mindful of the influences of different culture and context, the premise of this text is that there is a shared and commonknowledge base to guide nursing home practice and approaches to caring that are universal. THIS UNIQUE TEXT IS LOGICALLY DIVIDED INTO FOUR PARTS: PART 1 covers the origins of the nursing home movement, plus alternative approaches, including aging in place and what older people are saying about nursing home life and culture change. PART 2 focuses on the fundamentals of working as part of a nursing home team providing day-to-day care and the leadership essentials to drive the quality improvement agenda. PART 3 addresses the most common conditions experienced by older nursing home residents. PART 4 is devoted to clinical and nursing aspects of specific disease management. KEY FEATURES: Online supplemental material, including 1,000 PowerPoint slides available to faculty, plus Q&A available from the IAGGI * Over 150 multiple choice questions * Key points for each chapter * An essential study guide for the IAGG certificate in nursing home care
Nursing Leadership and Management by
Develop the knowledge and skills needed to lead and manage nursing care delivery with NURSING LEADERSHIP & MANAGEMENT, 3rd Edition! This newly revised edition provides readers with the most current on relevant topics such as quality improvement, patient safety, legal aspects of nursing, delegation, and licensure that are relevant for anyone in the nursing field. Thorough coverage and real-world perspectives will give readers a solid foundation in nursing leadership and management and prepare future nurse leaders to function successfully in the modern healthcare system.
Wharton Campus
The following nursing journals, located in the Journals & Magazines Reading area on the first floor of the JM Hodges Library on the Wharton campus, are available to read in the library.
Sugar Land Campus
The following nursing journals, located on the second floor of the University Branch Library in Sugar Land, are available to read in the library. Older volumes are available to check out.