Essentials of Nursing Leadership and Management by
Two books in one, for the price of one--all the issues and trends content your students need, plus leadership and management content. As the nursing shortage grows, nurses find themselves in leadership and management roles and more involved in workplace issues. The 5th Edition of this popular resource continues to prepare nurses to respond as leaders and managers in today's workplace.
Nursing Leadership and Management by
Develop the knowledge and skills needed to lead and manage nursing care delivery with NURSING LEADERSHIP & MANAGEMENT, 3rd Edition! This newly revised edition provides readers with the most current on relevant topics such as quality improvement, patient safety, legal aspects of nursing, delegation, and licensure that are relevant for anyone in the nursing field. Thorough coverage and real-world perspectives will give readers a solid foundation in nursing leadership and management and prepare future nurse leaders to function successfully in the modern healthcare system.
The following nursing journals, located in the Journals & Magazines Reading area on the first floor, are available to read in the library.
Log On Instructions: Your username is the same as your login username for the school (ex. PioneerJ or JPioneer123). If this is your first time to log in, click "Forgot Password" and reset your password. The code will be sent to your WCJC email.
Essentials of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing by
New DSM-5 Content! Whether it's an entire course on psychiatric nursing or integrating these principles into an existing course, this is the text that's concise, engaging, and informative. It offers an evidence-based, holistic approach to mental health nursing--in a streamlined format that explores nursing diagnoses for both physiological and psychological disorders. It's the psychiatric nursing text that students actually read, understand, and use. Completely revised, the 6th Edition reflects all of the new knowledge in the field and the practice of mental health nursing today, including DSM-5, NANDA-I 2012-2014, and QSEN.
Fast Facts for the Antepartum and Postpartum Nurse: a Nursing Orientation and Care Guide in a Nutshell by
All aspects of safe, effective, holistic care for birthing mothers, newborns, and their families are included in this easy-access guide for new antepartum and postpartum nurses and their preceptors during the orientation period. Presented in the convenient, easy-to-use "Fast Facts" format, the book provides up-to-date information regarding care for both low- and high-risk antepartum and postpartum patients. It encompasses evidence-based practice guidelines and clinical recommendations for routine antepartum assessment and nursing care, care of women with pre-existing conditions prior to pregnancy or complications of pregnancy, routine postpartum assessment and care, postpartum complications, and care of special populations. Each chapter features a helpful "orientation guide" to acquaint the new orientee with essential information on procedures and policies, equipment, medications, and evidence-based protocols.
Fast Facts for the ER Nurse by
"Because ER nurses need to think fast and act fast ... Fast Facts for the ER Nurse is the only orientation guide and reference designed specifically for new ER nurses and the preceptors responsible for their orientation. The chapters provide a brief overview of equipment, treatments, and drugs used to manage common disorders and conditions frequently seen in the ER. The book includes disorder definitions, signs and symptoms, interventions, drugs, and critical thinking questions. Using a bullet-point format, each chapter is conveniently organized alphabetically by disease and disorder within each body system for quick access. The book serves as an organized, reliable, and thorough ER guide, ensuring a structured approach to orientation. The book's "Fast Facts in a Nutshell" feature provides quick summaries of important points, questions, and answers at regular intervals throughout. Other useful features include a skills checklist, coverage of common lab values and medications, and EKG rhythms. Key Topics Include: Cardiovascular Emergencies; Disaster Response Emergencies; Infectious Disease Emergencies; Mental Health Emergencies; Shock and Multisystem Trauma Emergencies; Substance Abuse and Toxicologic Emergencies. New to this Edition: Endocrine Emergencies; Environmental Emergencies; Dental Emergencies; Rapid Sequence Intubation; Triage; Acute Stroke Management Guidelines; Sexual Assault-Intimate Partner Abuse."
Nursing Home Care by
THE DEFINITIVE TEXT ON THE PRINCIPLES AND CLINCAL PRACTICE OF NURSING HOME CARE A Doody's Core Title for 2015 "Nursing Home Care" is a practical textbook designed to serve as a rich evidence-based resource to provide physicians and other practitioners with the information and knowledge to advance nursing home care. It states and explains the principles underpinning safe, personalized, and dignified nursing home practice using an integrated, cooperative approach. In addition, itprovides the medical knowledge necessary to give quality care to nursing home residents. "Nursing Home Care" reflects the International Association for Geriatrics and Gerontology's conviction that nursing home practice is an interdisciplinary endeavor that requires a sound theoretical, scientific, and values base in addition to clinical expertise. Mindful of the influences of different culture and context, the premise of this text is that there is a shared and commonknowledge base to guide nursing home practice and approaches to caring that are universal. THIS UNIQUE TEXT IS LOGICALLY DIVIDED INTO FOUR PARTS: PART 1 covers the origins of the nursing home movement, plus alternative approaches, including aging in place and what older people are saying about nursing home life and culture change. PART 2 focuses on the fundamentals of working as part of a nursing home team providing day-to-day care and the leadership essentials to drive the quality improvement agenda. PART 3 addresses the most common conditions experienced by older nursing home residents. PART 4 is devoted to clinical and nursing aspects of specific disease management. KEY FEATURES: Online supplemental material, including 1,000 PowerPoint slides available to faculty, plus Q&A available from the IAGGI * Over 150 multiple choice questions * Key points for each chapter * An essential study guide for the IAGG certificate in nursing home care
American Drug Index by
Provides explanation and correlation of thousands of pharmaceuticals to medical, pharmaceutical, and allied health professionals. This book includes Tall Man lettering and hard-to-find generic drug pronunciations.
Nursing Drug Handbook by
The 36th edition of the best-selling, original drug handbook for nurses provides complete monographs for more than 900 generic and thousands of brand-name drugs. Monographs are consistently formatted for ease of use and focus on the practical information that nurses need. Each monograph consists of generic and trade names, pronunciation key, pregnancy risk category, pharmacologic class, controlled substance schedule (if applicable), available forms, indications and dosages, administration (with drug incompatibities for I.V. drugs), action (including tables showing route, onset, peak, duration, and half-life), adverse reactions, interactions, effects on lab test results, contraindications, nursing considerations, and patient teaching. Also includes chapters on general drug information (pharmacology/pharmacotherapeutics, pharmacogenomics, safe drug administration, therapeutic classifications) and numerous appendices. Text is complemented by free Toolkit containing hundreds of online resources.
Physicians' Desk Reference by
The Physicians' Desk Reference has been the premier reference on prescription drugs for 69 years. This highly respected, instantly recognized book is found in nearly every physician's office, clinic, hospital, pharmacy, and library. Completely updated every year, the PDR provides critical, current information on the most commonly prescribed drugs in the U.S. Every full, FDA-approved drug label in the PDR includes dosages, indications, warnings and precautions, side effects, safety information such as contraindications, pregnancy ratings, interactions with other drugs, food, and alcohol, clinical trials data, time-sensitive email reports delivering news of important label changes, new FDA product approvals, and other health-related information. Comprehensive indexing by a drug's brand and generic name, as well as by its manufacturer and therapeutic category, gives users multiple, easy ways to access the information they seek. The PDR also includes a product identification guide with hundreds of full-color images of products.
Search the EBSCOhost eBook Collection for Nursing titles. A couple of examples from the hundreds of titles available are provided below.
Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications by
The information nurses need...when, where, and how they need it! Nursing-focused and easy-to-read, this handbook delivers all of the information you need to understand how tests work, interpret their results, and provide quality patient care--pre-test, intra-test, and post-test. Tests and procedures are listed in alphabetical order by their complete name for quick reference. The integrated index allows fast searches by abbreviation, synonym, disease/disorder, specimen type, or test classification. Plus, a Body Systems Appendix includes a list of common laboratory and diagnostic tests for each body system as well as nutrition-related lab tests. FREE ACCESS! Each book contains a unique access code for a one-year online subscription to LabDxTest.com, Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications' database online, powered by Unbound Medicine. You'll have access to hundreds of detailed monographs from your desktop, laptop, or any mobile device with a web browser.
201 Careers in Nursing by
Few professions have evolved as much as nursing has, or offer as much variety, opportunity for growth, and potential for great personal and professional satisfaction.
