Search the Library Catalog for Psychology titles. Note: Reference books cannot be checked out; for use in library only.
A Student's Dictionary of Psychology
by
This classic text has become established as an invaluable reference for students of psychology. Offers clear and concise entries introducing key concepts from all areas of psychology and a cross-referencing system that makes it easy to find exactly what you're looking for. It should be a staple on every psychology student's bookshelf.
Encyclopedia of Psychology
by
After more than a century of extraordinary growth and development, the science of psychology at last has a reference source that defines the study of mind and behavior. Here in eight superbly organized volumes is the definitive guide to every area of psychological theory, research, and practice. International in scope, the Encyclopedia of Psychology is the first place to turn to for authoritative information on every area of the field. Organized alphabetically, the articles range from 500 to 7,000 words in length including 400 biographies. An extensive system of cross-references and blind entries facilitate research from article to article and clarify links within the field. And an exhaustive index locates topics quickly and easily--providing many points of access across areas of interest and fields of study. The Encyclopedia of Psychology serves a remarkable variety of readers: students and their teachers in every area of psychology as well as in such related fields as sociology, social work, nursing, and allied health; researchers in the cognitive sciences and neurosciences; and clinicians, counselors, and other mental health and human service professionals. It will be the definitive information, research, and reference source for many years to come.
Oxford Dictionary of Psychology
by
With over 11,000 entries, this comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorders, and research methods. The range of entries extends to related disciplines including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, the neurosciences, and statistics. Entries are extensively cross-referenced for ease of use, and cover word origins and derivations as well as definitions. In addition to the alphabetical entries, the Dictionary of Psychology, Second Edition also includes appendices covering over 800 commonly used abbreviations and symbols, as well as a list of phobias and phobic stimuli, with definitions. Comprehensive and clearly written, this dictionary is an invaluable work of reference for students, lecturers, and the general reader with an interest in psychology.
Search the Library Catalog for Psychology titles. A couple of examples from the hundreds of titles available to checkout are provided below.
Classic Experiments in Psychology
by
The typical survey course in psychology has time for only limited presentation of the research on which our knowledge is based. This book presents, in more depth than textbook treatment permits, the background, conduct, and implications of a selection of classic experiments in psychology. The selection is designed to be diverse, showing that even for research in vastly different areas of study, the logic of research remains the same—as do its traps and pitfalls. The typical survey course in psychology has time for only limited presentation of the research on which our knowledge is based. As a result, many students come away with a limited understanding of the role of experiments in psychological science. Where do experiments come from and how are they conducted? What are the pitfalls and how can we avoid them? What advantages do they have over intuition, authority, and common sense as guides to knowing and acting? What distinguishes research-based psychology from psychobabble? What have we learned from experimentation in psychology? This book presents, in more depth than textbook treatment permits, the background, conduct, and implications of a selection of classic experiments in psychology. The selection is designed to be diverse, showing that even for research in vastly different areas of study, the logic of research remains the same—as do its traps and pitfalls. This book will broaden and deepen the understanding of experimental methods in psychological research, examining where the research questions come from, how questions can be turned into experiments, and how researchers have faced the problems presented by research in psychology.
Great Psychologists and Their Times
by
Chapters are rich in examples drawn from the lives and careers of nota ble psychologists, examining such issues as birth order, psychopatholo gy, and intellectual precocity. Of particular interest are chapters ex ploring what aspects of the sociocultural context are most conducive t o the emergence of illustrious psychologists and how these sociocultur al conditions-including political events, economic disturbances, or cu ltural values-affect not only the magnitude of achievement but also th e very nature of that achievement. The findings reviewed lead to sugge stions about how best to educate and train both undergraduate psycholo gy majors and graduate students in psychology. This book will be a use ful resource for all psychologists, scientists, and historians who are willing to ponder the provocative overlap between psychology, science, and history.
Your Undergraduate Degree in Psychology
by
In Your Undergraduate Degree in Psychology: From College to Career, authors and professors Paul I. Hettich and R. Eric Landrum provide innovative strategies and tools for succeeding after college with an undergraduate degree in psychology. Drawing on current research data, applied theory, and both academic and workplace experiences, they help stimulate self-reflection and improve decision making as students approach their careers. The text covers key topics in the college-to-career transition, including career planning and development, identifying and transferring marketable skills, building and sustaining strong networks, understanding what employers want and don't want, coping with personal life changes, becoming a valued employee, and more.
Search the EBSCOhost eBook Collection for Psychology titles. A couple of examples from the thousands of titles available are provided below.
Health Psychology
by
This simple and concise introduction the psychology of health is the perfect text for students new to the area. Topics covered include health policy and epidemiology, genetic factors in disease, the experience of illness as a patient, beliefs and attitudes, stress, pain and healthy lifestyles.
Social Psychology
by
This second edition presents the core fundamentals of the subject in 11 manageable chapters while maintaining the book's scientific integrity. The research methods students need to understand, interpret, and analyze social psychological research are emphasized throughout. The streamlined approach provides an economical textbook for students and a flexible format that allows instructors to cover the entire book in a single semester. A book specific Web site contains a free online study guide and a variety of teaching tools. An Instructor's Manual/Test Bank and a Computerized Test Bank are also available.